The Singapore Prize and Spirit of Singapore Book Prizes Launched at the Victoria Theatre on April 18

singapore prize

The NUS Singapore History Prize, a biennial award launched in 2014 by the Department of History at NUS, is an international competition that recognises works that explore important aspects of Singapore’s unique and complex story. It aims to spur interest in Singapore’s history among non-academic readers, and promote discussion about the country’s place in the world. In 2023, the prize will reward the best book that makes the most significant contribution to understanding Singapore’s place in history. Eligible books must be published in English in either 2021 or 2022, have a strong Singapore element, and be available for sale or distribution in the market. Self-published works are not eligible.

The inaugural Dr Alan HJ Chan Spirit of Singapore Book Prize, a new literary award to recognise local fiction and non-fiction works, was launched on April 18. It is currently the richest pot for a book award in the country. It was started through a donation from Confucian scholar Alan Chan, and aims to encourage writing that champions mindsets and values important in shaping Singapore’s identity. These include equality, diversity, religious harmony, meritocracy and pragmatism.

This year, the Singapore Prize will also recognise social impact entrepreneurs who have demonstrated altruism and an unwavering commitment to their communities through the SG Breakthrough Prize. The top eight shortlisted teams will be offered up to $500,000 in seed funding, mentorship and other support, and a platform to showcase their ideas to the public and potential investors.

Other winners at the gala included landscape architect Tan Kay Ngee, who was awarded the Jury Prize for his exemplary body of work in Singapore and globally over four decades. He has shaped many of Singapore’s green public spaces such as Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park and Kampung Admiralty, and continues to push boundaries for future visions of the “City in Nature” concept.

The 2022 Singapore Literature Prize saw 12 winners crowned tonight at the Victoria Theatre, with awards given out in the country’s four languages: Chinese, Malay, Tamil and English. Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Edwin Tong was on hand to present the awards. The winner of the Readers’ Favourite award was decided by public vote, with novelist Balli Kaur Jaswal taking home the honour. Lastly, literary pioneer Edwin Thumboo received an SBC Achievement Award. The finalists were selected by a jury panel comprising a mix of writers, academics, arts and cultural figures, museum curators, historians and teachers. A total of 63 entries were received this year. The winners will receive their awards at the ceremony in November.